Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is a combination of 9 schools of traditional Japanese martial arts.

  1. Gyokko ryu Kosshijutsu (玉虎流骨指術)
  2. Koto ryu Koppojutsu (虎倒流骨法術)
  3. Shinden Fudo ryu Dakentaijutsu (神伝不動流打拳体術)
  4. Takagi Yoshin ryu Jutaijutsu (高木揚心流柔体術)
  5. Kuki Shinden ryu Happo Bikenjutsu (九鬼神伝流八法秘剣術)
  6. Gikan ryu Koppojutsu (義鑑流骨法術)
  7. Togakure ryu Ninpo (戸隠流忍法)
  8. Gyokushin ryu Ninpo (玉心流忍法)
  9. Kumogakure ryu Ninpo (雲隠流忍法)

The name “Taijutsu” implies that this is an art which utilizes the entire body moving together in a coordinated and harmonious way.

These 9 schools range from approximately 500 years old to 1,000 years old.

The ancient Ninja practiced a wide variety of martial arts, including these 9 schools.

This type of martial art was originally used on the battlefield in life and death encounters. For this reason, the use of strategy and weapons was emphasized to increase survivability.

Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is an art which changes and adapts to each unique challenge it is faced with. It continues to grow through the years. So while the traditional side is practiced (ie. Sword, Spear, Shuriken), the modern applications are also practiced (ie. Police and Security style tactics. Gun, Flashlight, Pepperspray, etc).

Because of the way in which Budo Taijutsu teaches you to change and adapt to a huge variety of real life situations while remaining calm under pressure, and to use strategy and tactics to overcome, it is popular with those in security, law enforcement, and military professions.

It is also possible for anyone to learn, since beginners are able to progress and grow at their own pace.